关于我们

REACH 一直在帮助青年和家庭度过远程学习的压力,
在低收入有色人种社区的困​​难时期,种族不公正和经济不安全。

我们的使命

REACH以年轻人为中心! 我们的愿景是创造一个年轻人茁壮成长的未来。
我们通过安全、归属感和可能性的文化来尊重青年的力量和韧性。

超级英雄

认识我们的领导层和管理合作伙伴

这些人使 REACH 成为一个安全、有吸引力和创造性的环境。

Erik Sakamoto,REACH 亚什兰青年中心执行董事

Jabari Gray,REACH 亚什兰青年中心助理主任

Rachel Bradshaw,阿拉米达县图书馆馆员

Jessica Enriquez,副警长活动联盟讲师

Joaquin Newman,阿拉米达县教育办公室艺术项目经理

Jerarde Gutierrez,阿拉米达县教育办公室艺术项目经理

Lupita Contreras,湾区社区资源高级学术/职业教练

Santi Soumpholphakdy,REACH 综合健康与保健临床主管

Danielle Mitchell,阿拉米达县警长办公室副主任

REACH 由阿拉米达县卫生保健服务机构 (HCSA) 和健康学校和社区中心 (CHSC) 与众多社区合作伙伴共同管理(见下文)。

REACH 之声

2021 年 XNUMX 月,REACH 青年领导力开始了一个名为“REACH 之声”的项目,以捕捉青年
在 REACH 亚什兰青年中心体验。 在这些采访中,青年谈论健康的力量和
健康、社会正义和青年领导力。
更多

REACH历史

未来不是梦. 亚什兰青年的梦想是创建一个青年中心,该中心已成为社区中一股强大、积极的身体力量。 REACH 亚什兰青年中心是一个耗资 23 万美元的设施,据信是该国同类设施中最大的,经过当地青年和公共部门长达十年的努力,他们齐心协力争取一个地方,于 2013 年 31,500 月开业。青年在亚什兰/切里兰的非法人地区茁壮成长,这是一个与贫困、帮派暴力、药物滥用、高犯罪率以及阿拉米达县最高的辍学率和青少年怀孕率问题作斗争的社区。 这种基层努力产生了一个充满活力的 XNUMX 平方英尺的绿色建筑设施,其中包括社区卫生诊所、图书馆、日托设施、多媒体室、舞蹈室、举重室、艺术室和咖啡馆。

它是如何开始的。 REACH 始于呼吁变革的年轻人和听取他们意见的公务员的声音。 伊甸园公寓的一名年轻居民服务协调员正在与住在低收入小区的年轻人合作​​。 每周放学后,聚集在伊甸园附近社区的年轻人的数量都会增加。 学生们谈到感到不安全,放学后无处可去逃避暴力、帮派和毒品。 协调员随后被阿拉米达县警长办公室 (ACSO) 聘用,帮助组织青年倡导解决方案。 这个小组成为青年领导委员会,包括大约 20 名年轻人,他们最终加入了其他人,他们为使青年中心成为现实而奋斗了多年。 与此同时,阿拉米达县主管启动了伊甸区宜居计划 (EALI),以了解社区的优先事项和需求。 青年领导委员会出席了第一次会议。 主管在孩子们的草根能量中看到了希望,从那时起,与 ACSO、阿拉米达县医疗保健服务机构 (HCSA)、前 AC 重建机构、圣洛伦索联合学区、海沃德地区休闲公园区合作,和其他人,他们作为一股力量共同努力,使 REACH 成为现实。

青年为青年。 年轻人为社区青年组织了活动,这些活动变成了有趣、有目的和方向的流行聚会。 青年明白他们的愿景很明确——一个青年茁壮成长的未来; 他们决心与县主管和他的工作人员会面,讨论他们需要一个安全的聚集和繁荣的地方。 五年来,年轻人参加董事会会议来宣传他们的案例。 在数百人参加的最后一次会议上,青年中心获得批准。 REACH 不仅获得了整个社区的大力支持,而且当地青年与县工作人员和设计顾问并肩工作,帮助指导项目开发和建筑和内部空间的实际物理设计。 他们提出的设计概念之一是棋盘格的概念,其中一些空间是开放的,一些空间是封闭的,贯穿整个建筑:我们想要开放和吸引人,但我们也想要安全。 年轻人还希望这座建筑成为年轻人艺术作品的展示场所,并反映社区的团结和多样性。

网站。 在搜索了一个可访问的空间后,购买了一个站点。 海沃德区游乐区率先制定总体规划; 这包括与拥有该中心地块的阿拉米达县重建局合作; 海沃德区休闲和公园区,将该物业的剩余部分重新开发为新的社区公园; 和 San Lorenzo 联合学区,该学区经营着毗邻中心的 Edendale 中学。 三个公共机构为了一个共同的目标一起工作。 这种合作使该项目成为可能。 对场地和周边地区的改进包括在一个很少有人居住的社区植树; 人行道和景观改善; 清理有毒废物场地。

对可持续发展的承诺。 REACH 的建立与可持续发展的承诺保持一致,该承诺赢得了阿拉米达县的全国关注。 REACH 拥有众多环保功能,包括目前可产生约 20% 建筑电力的屋顶太阳能电池板阵列,成为第一座获得美国绿色建筑委员会设立的令人梦寐以求的 LEED 白金认证的县级建筑。

社区的催化剂。 REACH 是该县一系列重建项目的催化剂,这些项目改造了曾经疲惫不堪的东 14 街,为多年来缺乏中心城区的社区中心带来大片绿化、新建筑和繁忙的步行交通。聚会空间。 它包括最近建造的 Jack Holland Sr. Park 和 Edendale Middle School 新的开放式多用途体育馆。 荷兰公园为亚什兰带来了急需的户外休闲公园空间,而伊登代尔体育馆则用于由圣洛伦佐联合学区、海沃德地区休闲和公园区以及阿拉米达联合运营的中学体育和课外活动县副警长活动团。

REACH合作伙伴

REACH 亚什兰青年中心由阿拉米达县卫生保健服务机构 (HCSA) 和健康学校和社区中心 (CHSC) 管理,并在众多机构、社区机构和组织的支持下运营,包括:

现场编程

  • 阿拉米达县图书馆
  • 阿拉米达县教育办公室
  • 阿拉米达县警长办公室,
  • 湾区社区资源
  • 副警长活动联盟
  • 海沃德区休闲公园区
  • KickStartCS
  • 基丹后
  • 拉萨诊所
  • 圣洛伦索联合学区。

阿拉米达县支持

  • 监事会
  • 2区主管内特·麦莉
  • 总务署
  • 行为保健服务
  • 缓刑部
  • 艺术委员会
  • 视觉2026
  • 社区发展局
  • 全部输入
  • 公共卫生部

支持组织

  • 阿拉米达县社区食物银行
  • 阿什兰市场和咖啡馆
  • 樱桃园社区协会
  • 伊甸联合基督教会
  • 社区发展资源
  • 视觉交流

About

REACH has been helping youth and families weather the stresses of remote learning,
racial injustice, and economic insecurity during a difficult time for lower-income communities of color.

Mission

REACH is youth-centered! Our vision is a future where youth thrive.
We honor youth power and resilience through a culture of safety, belonging, and possibility.

Super Heroes

MEET OUR LEADERSHIP AND MANAGING PARTNERS

These are the people who make REACH a safe, inviting, and creative environment.

Erik Sakamoto, Executive Director, REACH Ashland Youth Center

Jabari Gray, Assistant Director, REACH Ashland Youth Center

Rachel Bradshaw, Librarian, Alameda County Library

Jessica Enriquez, Instructor, Deputy Sheriffs’ Activities League

Joaquin Newman, Arts Program Manager, Alameda County Office of Education

Jerarde Gutierrez, Arts Program Manager, Alameda County Office of Education

Lupita Contreras, Senior Academic/Career Coach, Bay Area Community Resources

Santi Soumpholphakdy, REACH Integrated Health and Wellness Clinical Supervisor

Danielle Mitchell, Deputy, Alameda County Sheriff’s Office

REACH is managed by the Alameda County Health Care Services Agency (HCSA) and the Center for Healthy Schools and Communities (CHSC), in conjunction with numerous community partners (see below).

Voices of REACH

In April 2021 REACH Youth Leadership began a project called “Voices of REACH” to capture the youth
experience at the REACH Ashland Youth Center. In these interviews, youth talk about the power of health and
wellness, social justice, and youth leadership.
More

REACH History

The Dream. Ashland youth started with a dream to create a youth center that has become a powerful, positive, physical force in the community. The REACH Ashland Youth Center, a $23-million facility, believed to be the largest of its kind in the country, opened in May 2013 after a decade-long effort by local youth and the public sector who came together to fight for a place for youth to thrive in the unincorporated area of Ashland/Cherryland, a community struggling with problems of poverty, gang violence, drug abuse, high crime rates, and some of Alameda County’s highest school dropout and teen pregnancy rates. This grassroots effort resulted in a dynamic, 31,500-square-foot facility of green architecture that includes a community health clinic, library, day care facility, multi-media room, dance studio, weight room, arts room, and a café.

How it Began. REACH began with voices of young people pleading for change and the public servants who listened to them. A young resident services coordinator for the Eden House Apartments was working with youth who lived in the low-income complex. Every week after school the number of young people gathering at Eden House from nearby neighborhoods grew. The students talked about not feeling safe and having nowhere to go after school to escape the violence, gangs, and drugs. The coordinator, who was subsequently hired by the Alameda County Sheriffs’ Office (ACSO), helped organize the youth to advocate for a solution. This group became the Youth Leadership Council and included about 20 young people who were eventually joined by others who fought for many years to make the youth center a reality. Meanwhile, the Alameda County Supervisor had started the Eden Area Livability Initiative (EALI) to get a sense of the community’s priorities and needs. The Youth Leadership Council showed up to that first meeting. The supervisor saw hope in the kids’ grassroots energy and, from that time on, in collaboration with ACSO, Alameda County Health Care Services Agency (HCSA), the former AC Redevelopment Agency, San Lorenzo Unified School District, Hayward Area Recreation Park District, and others, they worked together as a force to make REACH happen.

For Youth by Youth. Young people organized events for neighborhood youth and these events turned into popular gatherings of fun, purpose, and direction. Youth understood that their vision was clear – a future where youth thrive; and they were empowered by their determination to meet with the County Supervisor and his staff to talk about their need to have a safe place to gather and thrive. For five years young people attended board meetings to advocate their case. At the final meeting, attended by hundreds, the youth center was approved. Not only did REACH garner strong support from the community at large, but local youth worked side by side with county staff and design consultants to help guide both the program development and actual physical design of the building and spaces within. One of the design concepts they came up with was the concept of the checkerboard, where some spaces are open, and some are closed, throughout the building: we want to be open and inviting but we also want to be safe. The youth also wanted the building to be a showplace for the artistic work of young people and to reflect unity and diversity of the community.

The Site. After searching for an accessible space, a site was purchased. Hayward Area Recreation District took the lead in developing master plan; this included partnership with the Alameda County Redevelopment Agency, which owned the parcel for the center; the Hayward Area Recreation and Park District, to redevelop remainder of the property as a new neighborhood park; and the San Lorenzo Unified School District, which operated the Edendale Middle School adjacent to the center. Three public agencies worked together with a common goal. This cooperation made the project possible. Improvements made to the site and the surrounding area included tree planting in a neighborhood where few had existed; sidewalk and landscape improvements; and clearing the site of toxic waste.

Commitment to Sustainability. REACH was built in keeping with a commitment to sustainability that has earned Alameda County national attention. With a multitude of environmentally friendly features, including an array of rooftop solar panels that currently generate about 20 percent of the building’s power, REACH became the first county building to receive the coveted LEED Platinum designation established by the US Green Building Council.

Catalyst for the Community. REACH was the catalyst of a string of redevelopment projects in the county that have transformed a once-tired stretch of East 14th Street, bringing swaths of greenery, new architecture, and heavy foot traffic to the heart of a community that for years lacked a central gathering space. It includes the recently constructed Jack Holland Sr. Park and the new open multi-use gymnasium at Edendale Middle School. The Holland Park brings much needed outdoor recreational park space to Ashland, while the Edendale Gymnasium is utilized for middle school athletics as well as after-school activities operated jointly by the San Lorenzo Unified School District, Hayward Area Recreation and Park District, and the Alameda County Deputy Sheriffs’ Activities League.

REACH Partners

REACH Ashland Youth Center is managed by the Alameda County Health Care Services Agency (HCSA) and the Center for Healthy Schools and Communities (CHSC), and is operated with the support of numerous agencies, and community institutions and organizations, including:

On-Site Programing

  • Alameda County Library
  • Alameda County Office of Education,
  • Alameda County Sheriff’s Office,
  • Bay Area Community Resources
  • Deputy Sheriffs’ Activities League
  • Hayward Area Recreation and Park District
  • KickStartCS
  • Kidango
  • La Clínica de la Raza
  • San Lorenzo Unified School District.

Alameda County Support

  • Board of Supervisors
  • District 2 Supervisor Nate Miley
  • General Services Agency
  • Behavioral Health Care Services
  • Probation Department
  • Arts Commission
  • Vision 2026
  • Community Development Agency
  • ALL IN
  • Public Health Department

Supporting Organizations

  • Alameda County Community Food Bank
  • Ashland Market and Café
  • Cherryland Community Association
  • Eden United Church of Christ
  • Resources for Community Development
  • Vision AC